Politics Ondo Assembly Crisis: Speaker Akindele, Others Resign

Politics Ondo Assembly Crisis: Speaker Akindele, Others Resign

Hon. Jumoke Akindele, has finally bowed to pressure by resigning as the Speaker of the Ondo State House of Assembly. Ifedayo Akinsoyinu, Deputy Majority leader, Vincent Obadiah, Kemisola Adesanya, the Whip and Towase Kuti, the Assistant parliamentary Secretary.

"We the undersigned hereby resign our positions as principal officers of this august house".

Expectedly, the opposing faction, led by Ms. Akindele, promptly reacted to the development, describing it an error and a plot to subvert the leadership of the house.

The Ondo State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has appealed to the Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (SAN) to allow the 18 local government councils to discharge their duties as elected representatives of the people.

An impeccable source disclosed that Mrs. Akindele's resignation letter, signed with five other principal officers of the Assembly and dated March 20, 2017, was officially received on Monday morning by the governor's chief of staff, Olugbenga Ale.

Meanwhile, the aggrieved lawmakers have authenticated Malachi Coker from Ilaje constituency as the new Assembly Speaker.

Meanwhile, a plenary session held yesterday was attended by 12 of the 13 Lawmakers loyal to Malachi Coker and boycotted by the 13 other lawmakers in Akindele faction.

"In line with our resolve to bring to an end the crisis in the Assembly, we have participated actively in the reconciliation process which led to the withdrawal of the case in court in deference to the intervention of the Governor".

He then dissolved the standing committee of the Assembly while adjourning sitting till Tuesday March 21, 2017.

He ordered the police to withdraw the security details and retrieve all government properties attached to the former principal officers immediately.

This post was syndicated from Vanguard News.