Hangkhalian appointed pro-tem speaker

Hangkhalian the pro-tem Speaker and administered the oath in a simple function at the Raj Bhavan.

The 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly has also been dissolved with the completion of its five years term Saturday. N. Biren Singh was sworn in as the first BJP Chief Minister of Manipur on March 16.

IMPHAL: Pro tem speaker V Hangkhalian on Sunday administered the oath of office to all 60 legislators who won in the just-concluded Manipur assembly polls.Earlier, governor Nejma Heptulla swore in Hangkhalian as pro tem speaker.

There will be a floor test for N Biren led coalition government on the floor of the house on Monday.

The State Legislative Assembly Secretary has issued a notification to this effect today. The cabinet further approved the draft Governor's address to be delivered on the first day of the first session of the new Assembly.

Earlier, announcing her decision to invite the BJP lead coalition to form the new government, Heptulla had stated that the new government must prove it's majority in the floor of the house as soon as possible.

Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh, Deputy Chief Minister Y Joykumar and other top civil and police officers attended the swearing in ceremony.