Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar asserts his govt would complete term

Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar asserts his govt would complete term

The exercise is done ahead of the presentation of state budget on March 24, and four days after Parrikar won the Supreme Court-mandated floor test in the Legislative Assembly.

March 20 (ANI): Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar on Monday allotted portfolios to his Cabinet Ministers.

Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar today distributed portfolios among nine ministers, keeping crucial ones like Home for himself.

While, the former defence minister will hold Home, Finance, Personnel, General Administration, Vigilance (GAD) and Transport department, Public Works Department (PWD) has been handed over to Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) chief Sudin Dhavalikar.

MGP's Manohar Azgaonkar has been given tourism and independent Rohan Khaunte the revenue ministry. All three MLAs of another BJP ally, the GFP, were also allotted ministries.

While two BJP ministers Francis D'Souza and Pandurang Madkaikar have been given the Urban Development and Power, three Goa Forward Party legislators Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Paliencar and Jayesh Salgaocar have been given respectively the Town and Country Planning, Water Resources Department and Housing Board. Three MLAs each of the MGP and the GFP, besides three Independent legislators, are supporting the BJP-led coalition government in the coastal state, while NCP's Churchill Alemao is providing outside support. The BJP has 13 MLAs as against the Congress' 17 in the 40-member House.

"Inviting the Goa Chief Minister is the job of Karnataka, but we vehemently believe that only intervention of the Prime Minister can help find an amicable solution to the long-standing dispute", he said.